Cool Flavor Ideas for Kombucha Brewing

After about 4 months of brewing kombucha, I’m now just rolling into a new phase of “brewdome”: flavors!  Don’t get me wrong: I still enjoy the sweet taste of ordinary kombucha, but I drink a lot.  Next to water, kombucha is my main liquid staple.  To get beside the point of topic (which, if you haven’t been aware of that yet is “flavored kombucha”), I do want to point out a few benefits I’ve noticed from drinking so much of this tasty tea.

1. I really have a better night’s sleep – I’m not sure why this is, but I have noticed it.

2. I get a good energy from it.  Not like the energy I get after drinking tea or coffee (that kind of energy is kind of cool, too – where you feel like you can run a 50k marathon in twenty minutes, and then crash an hour later with a dead-pan glaze, puffy and debilitated).  No, the kind of energy I’m talking about is an easy energy that flows through my body evenly and calmly.  I’ve said it before, but it’s an energy that clears my body and brain out.  A good thing.

3. I’ve noticed a lovely difference in my skin.

Okay.  I’m going stop there.  These are just noticeable, basic observations I’ve found recently.

Now onto the fun part!  Flavors!  (And keep in mind, I’m using a 1.5 L wine bottle for all these measurements…)

*   I strongly urge everybody who brews kombucha to try Strawberry. It’s a common flavor, but don’t underestimate its popularity.  Because it’s really, really good.  When pouring my brewed kombucha from its gallon-sized glass jar, I put it in the wine bottle.  I puree 5 organic strawberries, smoosh it in the bottle, and put it in the refrigerator.

Ginger-Strawberry is my next favorite.  The combination of the two creates such a satisfying and delicious taste.  I puree 4 organic strawberries and a chunk (1×1 inch) of ginger.

Lemon-Ginger is a unique combination that some might think sounds too weird, but it’s really good.  I made it when I got that “Autumn Cold” feeling (stuffy & runny nose, sore throat, etc) and drank this all day.  By the end of the day, I was good!  Unfortunate for my two little boys who did end of getting the dreaded cold (and it lasted 5 days).  I used an entire lemon peel and tablespoon of lemon juice, along with 1×1″ chunk of ginger.

So far that’s all I’ve tried.  Pretty basic to begin with, but new for me.  If any of you have any other ideas of what flavors I should try (or you’ve tried yourself) give me a shout! Additionally, if you’ve ever tried other flavors that you found totally disgusting, let me know those too!

7 thoughts on “Cool Flavor Ideas for Kombucha Brewing

  1. Would you believe me if I told you that I’d never even heard of Kombucha before? I just read about it on Wiki and even now I’m still a little unsure of it!! But you’re swearing by it so I trust it’s delicious even though a giant gob of yeast looks a little creepy? :)

  2. Hi Megan,

    When I first heard about Kombucha, I thought it was the most disgusting sounding drink ever. My husband STILL is pretty certain that one of these nights the “scoby” mushroom will crawl out from the jar and kill us in our sleep. (I admit: it looks a bit creepy). I would think it’s an acquired taste; give it a few goes, and see what happens. The health benefits are AMAZING. Seriously – amazing. I haven’t had any yesterday and today (my brew is due for tomorrow, and I was two days short of supply) and totally feel the difference from not having any. :)

  3. great site! i would also recommend trying lemon-raspberry. another good one is crushing spirulina (about 5 tabs). unique taste that might be hard getting used to, but health benefits are amazing.

    • @TLord, Oh yes! Add Ginger … you won’t be disappointed. It makes for a great kick start in the morning too (sometimes when I try and eliminate caffeine from my daily diet, I go to Kombucha in the mornings and the Ginger really wakes me up). :)

  4. We’ve been brewing since Christmas when we got our first scoby. Our favorite is dried juniper berries and rose hips. In half a gallon I use about 1 tsp of juniper and 8-10 rose hips. Yummy! My husband lets the tea bag sit in the water overnight so it’s nice and strong by morning. Then we put in the dried berries and strain it through the day when we want to refill our original komucha bottles. I’m wondering what you do with your extra scoby?

    • @ ninermine … I’ve never tried dried juniper berries or rose hips (of which I have both in garden), so thank you for the ideas and inspiration! As for the extra scoby, you can do what I do: either give it to a friend (for themselves or for somebody they know) or put it in the compost! Because the entire scoby is entirely organic and decompostable (is that a word?) it makes for a great compostable item! :) Hope that helps and happy kombucha brewing!

Leave a Reply

